Loose the labels: (Plus… what me & Steve eat!)

Since ‘going raw’ I have often battled with the term ‘raw’ as being a label for me and who I am.
I have a real hang up about labels, especially when it comes to food.
But, it is true, ‘you are what you eat’, this is a universal truth that we all know by now…
So, as I blog away, as much as I don’t like to do it, I have to put myself in some kind of ‘box’ for you all to understand where it is I am coming from.
Simply enough, just over 2 years ago I chose to stop eating cooked foods.
Little did I know this would become much more than just a choice not to heat my food.
I did however know that eating only ‘raw food’ was certainly not just a ‘diet’, it was a lifestyle choice that covered so many aspects of day to day living.
It really shouldn’t have to be this way since we were all raw foodist to begin with (your mothers milk certainly wasn’t pasteurized, sterilized or boiled,was it?).
To me, this choice is the most natural thing any of us could be doing… but we’re not all quite there yet…
So for clarity; What is a raw foodist?
I have no idea…
There are many definitions, all of them are wrong, because it is impossible to define someone into any kind of category, there will always be the part that says ‘except for this and that thing’.
But, for me, it is about eating food which is as alive and full of life force as possible.
(In the raw food world this tends to mean it has not been heat treated above 42 degrees).
I avoid all processed foods, although some of you may feel ‘blending’ is a way of processing.
I don’t eat any animal products, although I do consume the gifts from the bees, honey, bee pollen and royal jelly but I don’t eat the bee itself so don’t worry any ‘vegans’ out there 😉 the bee products I eat are all from very very happy bees.
I only eat organic.
That’s about it really, but the food isn’t where it ends.
It is about thinking and considering all kinds of ‘input’ into your being.
Including, the media you choose to pay attention to, the chemicals you allow into your home, the places you go to socialize, the people and causes you devote your time to.
It is your work, your play, your everything.
This is about optimal health, longevity, thriving and living in close connection with mother earth, her rhythms, her rules.
But, if you don’t mind, for the sake of ease, I will be calling my self RAW from here on in…
You get the idea, right?!
I learned a huge amount about this change I made, through countless visits to an unlikely place here in SCOTLAND.
‘Red Sugar’
A ‘Raw food cafe’ in my home town, Edinburgh!
Unlike most who choose to ‘go raw’, I wasn’t on deaths door.
There is no big story to go behind the changes I made.
I was like most people really.
When someone asked me how I was, I would generally answer “OK thanks”
Ok. But not great.
Yes, I am a yoga teacher, I practiced yoga every day and have done literally HUNDREDS of diets, detoxes and quick fixes to get in shape for something.
But never really had thought about taking it any further.
I heard yesterday that 1 in 2 people now are expected to die from cancer.
I wasn’t surprised.
So, that’s like, me or you… crazy huh?
But this is a statistic and it can be rewound.
My choice to ‘go raw’ was much more about what I said above… Living really living.
I personally wanted to feel like all these other raw food advocates were…
Amazing everyday and it just keeps on getting better.
I wanted longevity with the added bonus of feeling ridiculously well while I am here in this physical body.
Longevity is great when you feel great but it would be pretty awful if you were due to live a long life feeling like crap!
I wanted to know what it feels like to truly connect to my source, my inner light, my soul, my truth, god… whatever you want to call it.
Face creams told me I would stay looking younger for longer but I never thought there was a way to actually look young for all my days or reverse the aging process that has already set in for some.
What startles me the most is knowing that every day we are given the another chance to start again, to turn things around or wipe the slate clean…but how many of us do it?
We are given that choice, every day.
It is simple but we make it hard.

Me and Steve decided it was time to give a deeper insight into what we eat because it really is what we get asked most.
I will try to keep up with it daily but if I miss a few, please don’t think I’m at home munching on a fish supper, I won’t be 😉

So, what did we eat each today?

(NB: I say ‘fresh’ because it really is fresh and nothing has been ‘done’ to it to preserve it, I say ‘organic’ because this is so so important to us, our fruits are ALWAYS seeded (i.e. heirloom and none of the hybrid unseeded Frankenstein fruits that are out there), there is no ‘breakfast, lunch and dinner’ sections becuase this is such a programme that we all feel we MUST stick to… not true!… eat/drink when you really need to in the sequence that suits your body. Finally, all of our spring water comes from the Scotlandwell spring in Fife)

Steve:
7:30am –
1 litre fresh spring water (warmed slightly)
1 cup fresh spring water with 2 teaspoons organic chlorella powder

8:30am –
1 teaspoon organic, fresh Royal Jelly
2 dessertspoons fresh, organic bee pollen

11am –
650ml of the following concoction Steve invented he called it ‘Sun Power Protein’ cause it’s all the protien you need! Straight from source to you! 🙂
(the following recipe made about 1.3 litres)
***Sun Power Protien***
2 dessert spoons sun-dried raw, organic bee pollen
1 big chunk raw, organic, aloe vera gel
1/2 teaspoon raw, organic, blue manna
4 teaspoons raw, organic spirulina powder
1 teaspoon raw, organic noni
1.5 inches fresh organic ginger root
1 teaspoon raw, organic 15+ manuka honey
1.3 litres fresh spring water

Aloe vera, bee pollen

Spirulina, blue manna, noni

Ginger

Manuka honey.... add the spring water and...blend!

12 noon –
1 cup of ‘Purple’
(the following recipe makes about 4 cups and varies from day to day)
***Purple***
600g organic rasperries
600g organic blueberries
2 SEEDED organic oranges
2 teaspoons raw organic purple corn extract
2 teaspoons raw organic mangosteen powder

The mystical purple

1pm –
500ml nettle tea

1:30pm –
20g organic, raw, HOME MADE chocolate!
(Balaniese 10% fermented cacao beans ground at low temperature which makes solid 100% organic chocolate)

2:30pm –
1 bowl of ‘Green’
(the following recipe makes about 4 bowls and varies from day to day)

***Green***
1 bunch organic watercress
1 bunch organic rocket
1 head organic celery
1 bunch organic salad mix
2 big hand fulls organic parsley
2 organic lemons (skin removed, white pith left on)
1 inch fresh, organic ginger
1 bunch organic chard
2 big hand fulls organic, purple-spouting broccoli
1 organic cucumber
1 teaspoon raw, organic, kelp powder
1 teaspoon raw, organic crystal manna
1 teaspoon raw, organic blue manna
On top we added…
1 big handful of home grown, organic, sprouts (fenugreek, sango radish, broccoli and cress)

3pm –
1/5 litre fresh spring water

5pm –
2 dessertspoons fresh, organic bee pollen
1 cup of ‘Purple’

8pm –
1 bowl of ‘Green’
1 big handful of home grown, organic, sprouts (fenugreek, sango radish, broccoli and cress)
4 dessertspoons my avocado dip (varies every time!)
(the following recipe makes enough to feed 4 people 4 dessert spoons each)
***Avocado dip***
4 organic, ripe avocados
juice of 1 whole organic lemon
1 handful fresh, organic thyme
1 table spoon organic, ground cumin powder

9pm –
500ml camomile & vanilla tea

Me!

7:30am –
1 litre fresh spring water (warmed slightly)
2 teaspoons ‘Really Raw’ organic honey

11am –
650ml of ‘Sun Power Protein’ (see above!)

12 noon –
1 tablespoon hempseed oil
2 dessertspoons fresh, organic bee pollen

12:15pm –
1 cup of ‘Purple’ (see above)

1pm –
500ml nettle tea

1:30pm –
20g organic, raw, HOME MADE chocolate!
(Balaniese 10% fermented cacao beans ground at low temperature which makes solid 100% organic chocolate)

2:30pm –
1 bowl of ‘Green’ (see above)
1 big handful of home grown, organic, sprouts (fenugreek, sango radish, broccoli and cress)

3pm –
1/5 litre fresh spring water

5pm –
2 dessertspoons fresh, organic bee pollen
1 cup of ‘Purple’

8pm –
1 bowl of ‘Green’
1 big handful of home grown, organic, sprouts (fenugreek, sango radish, broccoli and cress)
8 dessertspoons my avocado dip (varies every time!)

9pm –
500ml camomile & vanilla tea

By reading these blogs you will be given a sneak preview of how I and my partner Steve choose to do this.
You will see the importance of PURPLES, GREENS and more GREENS!
I am so blessed to have come to understand how to look after my sacred portal and have the potential to access what I can to be super well.
But, this is a choice and you have the power to make the choice too!
Warning! Do NOT  do this if you DON’T want to feel good!
Big love and happy sun bathing 😉
S xxxxx

Leave a Reply

