Spirulina Coconut Crispies

After a long week at the Vivapura warehouse I am looking forward to a restful weekend here in Patagonia.
Steve and I are in preparation for moving house next week!
Not far this time, only around the corner to a lovely new home with a mountain view…
I can’t wait!
Since we left Edinburgh it has been a long and challenging road for us…
This next step of moving into a really solid and secure new home is coming to us at just the right time.
It feels good to know we will have our own place and space again for a while.
I look forward to sharing this exciting time with you next week by video or picture… we’ll see!

So, for now, another recipe for you!
I miss Costa Rica and the coconuts take me back there so here’s a great coconutty recipe that also gets some green algae into your diet, especially if you’re not finding an easy way to stomach these foods yet…

I have also been spending lots of time getting creative in the kitchen to keep me in my sanity… creativity is the key!
I recently tried a (no names/brands mentioned) great raw snack, which I bought at ‘The Tree of Life’ store last week.
I loved it so much but just could not justify spending so many dollars on something I knew I could make myself!
… Besides I have all the ingredients/equipment at my finger tips!
Never having owned a dehydrator, it is high time I gave one a shot…

Spirulina Coconut Crispies

Spirulina Coconut Crispies

1/2 lb coconut chips
4 teaspoons spirulina
juice of 2 lemons
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon turmeric
2 big handfuls of parsley

Trust me, this is so easy….

  • Pour all coconut chips into a zip-lock bag
  • Juice the lemons into a bowl and combine all remaining ingredients together….
  • Add wet mixture to coconut chips
  • Seal and shake bag vigorously until chips are coated in mixture!
  • Pour contents of bag out on to dehydrator tray and dehydrate for 4-5 hours at 115 degrees
  • Once finished, the chips should be crispy
  • Store in a zip-lock bag away from moisture

These are so yummy but be sure to drink lots of water when you consume dehydrated foods or you’ll end up a bit dehydrated too!
So enjoy this fun recipe and keep in touch…
I now have a subscription option up the top to the right of the blog page.
Sign up and keep in the flow!

Big big love S xxxxx

One thought on “Spirulina Coconut Crispies

  1. Fiona Yu says:

    Date: April.1,,2011
    From:Tianjin Norland Biotech Co.,ltd
    Dear sirs,
    Good day !
    We are a professional manufacturer & supplier of
    Spirulina Algae Powder
    Chlorella Algae Powder
    Stable Vitamin C 35%
    Chloline chloride

    Our products are widely used in aquaculture feed industry for fish,shrimp,tropical pet fish, on enhancing survival rate,growth rate,disease-resistance color,shine and health
    in fish.
    Pls advise your interest.

    Best regards,
    Fiona Yu
    Tianjin Norland Biotech Co.,ltd
    NO.501,DAGU NAN RD,HEXI DIST ,TIANJIN 300202,CHINA
    TEL:86-22-58196098
    FAX:86-22-58196099
    Email:sp@norlandbiotech.com

Leave a Reply

