I mostly blame you‏…

…this was the title to an email I received at 5:30am this morning.

Naturally I was concerned and opened it immediately (I had a full 2.5 hours yoga practice ahead of me so I knew it would not be a good idea to leave it’s mystery content dwelling in the questioning corners of my monkey mind!
So, I opened it, read it, and it said this:

“…at my urge to try going mostly raw again. But I *do* have a question (you can use it for your blog if you want): can you give me an idea of what you eat over a few days? Every time I try going raw, I feel awesome for a while, and then everything goes to pot…”

Que huge sigh of relief, followed by smile, followed by inspiration to answer this question in my very next blog – all while sipping on 1 litre of warm water with 1 whole lemon squeezed into it… here marks the start of ‘February’s Food’ – a blog series which will last as long as I can be inspired enough to keep it up.

Before I go on to list yesterday’s culinary content let me first say this…
For a while I have considered doing this – a food diary – but there has been one thing in the back of my mind that has held me back.
I refer back to my recent blog: ‘Questions for a RAW FOODIST?’ where I mentioned what I require to effectively answer the questions I am asked, one of my requirements were:

Your understanding and common sense to know that this blog is about me – I am by no means suggesting you do this or that the way I live my life is ‘THE WAY’. Explore, question, take it all with a pinch of salt, leave what you don’t need. If you don’t agree and want to respond, know that I will only respond to comments that are constructive, integral and compassionate. If you don’t like it and cannot respond in a kind way please just don’t read it or at least don’t expect a response.
(NB: The opposite of love/kindness being anger/hate/fear IMHO)

So, thank you dear friend for asking the questions you asked. I am honored you asked me more about the way I roll.
I am assuming then that by the number of times I am asked the same question – I must be doing something right, and making it look worth while trying out in the process!
What I do want to make a clear point on is that what I do eat may to many folks in the beginning seem very crazy.
Not everyone but some.
I expect (I have been doing this for a while) to be judged – that’s human nature – we wouldn’t be here if we didn’t judge!
But what needs to be seen is that I have not just switched to this over night – I have dabbled, detoxed, dipped in and out of different phases, my body has changed and more recently my attitude – all as a result of eating and living this way.
If you want to know the real wee yogi – you’d need to live with me to understand my method better.
So, please be careful – don’t just eat what I eat and expect the same results – you are an individual and will have your own way, it just takes time to find it.
What I do hope to do, is inspire people to eat better and perhaps knock on the door of ‘can I do any better for myself & perhaps the planet?’…
Basically, what I am also trying to say here is  – please don’t get obsessed with what you eat and end up with some kind of eating disorder.

Lastly, what I eat on a day to day basis is only a fraction of what makes this way of life simple and easier for me to do.
I see a future full of workshops on not just what to eat but also – How to find the best water, How to detox your bathroom cabinet, How to be sure every orifice of your body and your life is happy, whole and being given it’s deserved attention – and so on and so forth!!!

More questions please!

Love & Gratitude

Susan x

‘February’s Food’  – Wednesday 1st February 2012

5:30am –
1 litre of warm water with lemon (skin and all juiced in the Omega 8006)
1 small cup of white tea
3 teaspoons of raw honey (not in the tea, just eaten off the spoon)

11am –
1 litre of JUICE (1 cucumber, 4 apples, 1 big bag of spinach & few kale leaves)

12:00pm –
THIS:

I call this my hot chocolate heaven but it's not really that hot 😉

  1. 750ml Pukka – ‘Three Ginger Tea’ brewed for about 30 mins – warm but not hot
  2. 2 tablespoons of hulled hemp seeds (no shells)
  3. 4 medjool dates
  4. 3 tablespoons of raw cacao powder
  5. 1 pinch pink salt
  6. 1 tablespoon of raw coconut oil
  7. 1 tablespoon of NON GMO soy lecithin granules
  8. 1 teaspoon of shilajit
  9. (if i’d had maca powder i’d have added 1 tablespoon!)

~ PUT EVERYTHING IN THE BLENDER (PREFERABLY A VITAMIX) AND BLEND UNTIL SMOOTH and CREAMY ~

Afternoon snack –
5 dried apricots
handful of raw cacao nibs

Throughout afternoon –
1 litre bottled highland spring water

Dinner –
Green soup (made a huge bowl – not sure on exact measure) containing:
2 bags salad mix
1 romaine lettuce
1 bag of rocket
2 tablespoons of raw sprouted pumpkin seed butter
2 tablespoons of raw apple cider vinegar
1 clove of garlic (appologies go out to my yoga friends this morning for my garlic breath! ;))

4 pieces of my own home made ‘flat black bread’ (recipe coming soon!)

Later –
2 medjool dates

250ml Pukka ‘Night Time Tea’


4 thoughts on “I mostly blame you‏…

  1. Fi says:

    thanks to the person who e-mailed this question to Susan…it’s been on my mind to ask the same question 🙂
    I’d LOVE to live with you and Steve! 😉

  2. Sbeenie says:

    Ah susan!
    Great this one! And also great to see that in so many ways I’ve been doing so similar things, my smoothies and green smoothies (e.g. “soup”) and dates and things.. lovely lovely! Wish I had more of that here, but also the Indian food is just the way to experience this country fully (for me) and hey, there are many many coconut stalls 🙂
    Much love from far away!
    xs

Leave a Reply

