Why I don't heat honey – ever.

This morning on our walk to the shala, Jill asked me about why I don’t just put the honey in my tea.
I had told her a few weeks ago it was poison to eat heated honey and she thought it would be a good idea to share this with wee yogi blog readers.
There’s almost always reasons – ask me and I will be happy to tell you my reasons for the stuff I do.
I believe it is true that heated honey is not good for the body since I’ve tried heated honey and not heated honey – I felt better off the latter.

An Ayurvedic Dr once told me when you add honey to hot water it becomes toxic.
Honey when heated above 40˚ C becomes toxic to the body, it creates excessive heat as toxins from the pollen is released and in turn unbalances the three doshas: vata, pitta and kapha.
Honey should never be heated or mixed with hot foods or with alcohol = potential energy drain.

Hope this answers that – more questions?
Please ask!
The stuff I do is normal to me so if you think it’s weird tell me if you want to know why I do it!

Happy Sunday everyone…

Here is Saturdays food…

February Food – Saturday 4th February

7:00am –
1 litre of warm water with lemon (skin and all juiced in the Omega 8006)
1 small cup of white tea
3 teaspoons of raw honey (not in the tea, just eaten off the spoon)

10am –
1 large hot water with ginger
3 teaspoons of raw honey (not in the tea, just eaten off the spoon)

11:00am –
1 litre of JUICE (1 cucumber, 4 apples, 1 big bag of spinach)
4 tablespoons bee pollen with 1 tablespoon of coconut oil

3pm –
Herbal tea at Earthy with my mum and sisters 🙂
1 small box of raw cacao nibs

5pm –
4 tablespoons of dried bee pollen

6:00pm –
Green soup (made a huge bowl – not sure on exact measure – see previous soups – it was similar!)

Later –
2 tablespoons of Almond Butter
4 Medjool dates
Large Herbal Tea (Valerian was in there with a lot of other stuff!)

2 thoughts on “Why I don't heat honey – ever.

  1. pooja kapoor says:

    HONEY SHOULD NEVER BE HEATED AT ALL. I have myself seen this poisonous effect on one of my relatives who used to take honey in hot fluids. this affected him badly. when he went to the doctor, and after months of diagnosis, he was diagnosed with the accumulation of a glue like substance in his body, and very late it was discovered that this was due to the heated honey. the heating of honey changes the molecular structure of the honey and makes it highly toxic. it should be made compulsory by all the legislations in the world to mark on the bottles that honey should not be heated. also, it is a shame that too many companies these days are marketing their cereals with honey, whose preparation involves heating the cereals to cook them. the right procedure is only to cook the cerals, then make them luke warm and thereafter only add honey. these companies who are marketing so many sorts of “processed foods” as “healthy choices for people” should be banned by people, as no government around the world have hands big enough to ban these big and powerful brands. this has been scientifically proven that when honey is heated, it forms a chemical called as hydroxymethyl furfuraldehyde (HMF) and also chemically alters its basic structure/ composition while increasing peroxides.

Leave a Reply

