… Food for thought

‘February’s Food’ – Tuesday 6th February
(scroll to the bottom to hear more about my day)

Today was full moon – no yoga this morning and a long lie in – I had a colonic scheduled for today (full and new moon are great times for detoxing) so I modified my diet to suit the circumstances – less heavy solids, more juice and lots of water.
Yesterday I ate simply but nothing outrageously different to any other day.

8:30am –
1 litre of warm water with lemon (skin and all juiced in the Omega 8006)
1 small cup of white tea
3 teaspoons of raw honey

10am –
1 teaspoon of wheatgrass juice powder mixed in water (equivalent of 1 shot of wheatgrass = 1 kilo of veggies!)
1 litre of JUICE (1 large cucumber, 2 apples, 1 large bag of spinach, 1 large chunk of Turmeric Root)
50 chlorella tablets (I just got paid so can now introduce some more of my trusty algaes and super-foods – this is where I really start to feel super good -chlorella tablets also taste like little peanuts! Please read more down below…)
4 Dessert Spoons of Bee Pollen

1pm –
More JUICE… Beetroot, carrot and apple

3pm –
1 liter coconut water (needs must – I don’t like to drink the stuff in a carton but what else is a thirsty wee yogi going to drink? Here’s where I really miss Costa Rica and all her wonderful local fresh produce)

Between 6-9pm –
Water and herbal teas about 1 liter

Later after teaching around 9:30pm –
4 tablespoons of dried bee pollen
1 litre of JUICE (1/2 cucumber, 1 apple, 1 large bag of spinach)

There's up to 5 feet of large intestine (colon) alone - that's a lot of space for the stuff you don't want to build up, to hang around. Especially in all those bends and twists!

Interesting notes from the day –

I feel good after my colonic. I always leave feeling clearer in my mind, quieter in my thoughts and more balanced and positive.
The colon is like your second brain.
Naturally, if the colon is blocked, crowded and heavy as will be your mind and judgement.

I had good feedback on my health from the therapist but was surprised to hear I am a little dehydrated!
On that note… I do miss my fresh bee pollen and fresh fruits and I guess this is why I am a little dehydrated – too much dried stuff and not enough fluids – sometimes I don’t drink if I can’t get the best quality (i.e. coconut water).
hmm… time to re-strategize.

I have been working extra hard these past few months and I am glad to say finally my life is coming back into more of a balance in terms of my finances at least.
With that, I am hoping I can start to get back to my old ways of fresh bee pollen, algaes and wheatgrass. Having said that, I feel pretty pleased with managing to stay so balanced and nourished through a long tough winter in Scotland with little variety in terms of food and on a very low income!

I have had my fair share of colonics so I go about this in my own way, that works for me.
Please be sure to seek advice before you go ahead and do it.
One of the first things to consider is how you are going to prepare – i.e. eat light and be kind to your body.
I wouldn’t recommend having a colonic for the first time without any support (i.e. a friend who has done it before or on line support network for afterwards).
I also don’t recommend going right to work afterwards!
Take some time off to rest and reflect.
Be sure to ‘chase up’ your cleansing experience with lots of water and rest.

CHLORELLA INFO – taken from
http://www.earthrise-foods.co.uk

Chlorella is a detoxification aid for heavy metals and other pesticides. Numerous research projects in the US and Europe indicate that chlorella can help the body to break down persistent hydrocarbon and metallic toxins such as mercury, cadmium and lead, DDT and PCB, while at the same time strengthening the immune system response. Chlorella is comprised of a fibrous outer shell (20%) and its inner nutrients (80%). It is the fibrous material which has been proven to actually bind with the heavy metals and pesticides – such as PCBs – which can accumulate in our bodies.

A healthy bloodstream, with an abundance of red blood cells to carry oxygen, is necessary for a strong natural defense system. Chlorella’s cleansing action on the bowel and other elimination channels, as well as its protection of the liver, helps keep the blood clean. Clean blood insures that metabolic wastes are efficiently carried away from the tissues.

Chlorella gets its name from the high amount of chlorophyl it possesses. Chlorella contains more chlorophyl per gram than any other plant. Chlorophyl is one of the greatest food substances for cleansing the bowel and other elimination systems, such as the liver and the blood.

Haemoglobin is the protein in our red blood cells which binds with oxygen and gives blood its bright red color. Chlorophyll cells are nearly identical to haemoglobin, with one exception: Chlorophyll has a magnesium molecule at its centre while haemoglobin has an iron molecule at the centre of it. This is important because magnesium is essential for the heart to function properly. Every time our heart beats, it is utilizing magnesium to do so.

Interferon, produced naturally by the body, is one of the greatest natural defenses against cancer. Chlorella stimulates the activity of macrophages and T-cells by increasing interferon levels, thus enhancing the immune system’s ability to combat foreign invaders whether they are viruses, bacteria, chemicals or foreign proteins.

Many diseases can only thrive in an acidic environment, thus the vital importance of helping the body to maintain an alkaline/neutral pH of 7.2-7.4. Whole foods like Chlorella and Spirulina can help with this.

Chlorella also helps to normalize blood sugar in cases of hypoglycaemia, where blood sugar is too low. Proper levels of blood sugar are necessary for normal brain function, heart function and energy metabolism, all of which are crucial in sustaining good health and preventing disease.

High blood pressure is one of the major risk factors in heart attack and stroke, which account for more fatalities in the Western world than any other disease. Laboratory experiments have shown that regular use ofChlorella reduces high blood pressure and prevents strokes in rats.

One thought on “… Food for thought

  1. Fi says:

    you make me want to be more healthy with my diet Suey…thank you! I thought I was pretty healthy being vegge for 24 years, but now I know I wasn’t a healthy vegetarian. There are many of us out there! I am not alone…
    Like you I am taking the full moon as an opportunity to simplify what I am consuming so am on day 1 of my own version of a juice, soup schedule (I hate to use the word ‘diet’).

    thanks for another wonderful blog which I like to read over my daily ‘lunch’.

    Miss Fennel x

Leave a Reply

