Pukka [ˈpʌkə] adjective excellent, proper or genuine… *TRIPHALA*

Pukka [ˈpʌkə] adjective excellent, proper or genuine
ORIGIN [from Hindi pakkā firm, from Sanskrit pakva]

My latest experiment...

Last week I posted this blog all about my love for Pukka Products.
There are so many wonderful items of theirs which interest me and I always look forward to trying another creation!
I started this series of reviews with their delicious Cinnamon & Licorice Tea which I still just cannot get enough of!
I have to say I have all of their teas at home – I’m a bit of a Pukka Groupie 😉
Before ‘going raw’ I was well into Ayurveda and felt it did have some good effects. Since then I try to combine Ayurvedic principles with my new approach to diet and lifestyle which is now high raw, enzyme rich foods.
Being interested in herbs I thought this week it might be fun to try something a bit different.
As it turns out – I am going to be trial running this one for 1 month to see if I feel the effects.
Today is just a wee introduction into what is *supposed* to happen when you take this…

Triphala is an Ayurvedic herbal elixir type powder consisting of equal parts; the three most important herbs in Ayurveda for balancing the five elements:
Amalaki (Phyllanthus emblica)
Bibhitaki (Terminalia bellirica)
Haritaki (Terminalia chebula)

The word triphala from Hindi/Sanskrit: (त्रिफला) means literally “three fruits”.

I did a little research and apparently triphala is a mild laxative, which cleanses and tonifies the gastro-intestinal tract.
With the next Juice Feast around the corner (starting this Sunday – FULL MOON) I thought it would be the best time to start this blend, when my body is really open to receive it’s benefits!
Want to join me? Why not give it a try yourself? You can get it online here.

So, back to my new experiment… here’s some more on each of the precious herbs inside the caps.
(NB: I have decided to take the powder out of the caps so my body doesn’t have any unnecessary extras to deal with – I do this with all my capsule items – just like probiotics etc – cause I don’t mind the taste)

Amalaki (Phyllanthus emblica)

According to Ayurveda, aamla balances all three doshas. While aamla is unusual in that it contains five out of the six tastes recognized by Ayurved, it is most important to recognize the effects of the “virya”, or potency, and “vipaka”, or post-digestive effect. Considered in this light, aamla is particularly helpful in reducing pitta due to its cooling energy and balances both Pitta and vata by virtue of its sweet taste. The kapha is balanced primarily due to its drying action. It may be used as a rasayana (rejuvenative) to promote longevity, and traditionally to enhance digestion (dipanapachana), treat constipation (anuloma), reduce fever (jvaraghna), purify the blood (raktaprasadana), reduce cough (kasahara), alleviate asthma (svasahara), strengthen the heart (hrdaya), benefit the eyes (chakshushya), stimulate hair growth (romasanjana), enliven the body (jivaniya), and enhance intellect*** (medhya). ***This last part I like the sound of!!!

Bibhitaki (Terminalia bellirica)

According to Dymock, Warden, Hooper: Pharmacographia Indica 1890 :
“This tree, in Sanskrit Vibhita and Vibhitaka (fearless), is avoided by the Hindus of Northern India, who will not sit in its shade, as it is supposed to be inhabited by demons. Two varieties of T. belerica are found in India, one with nearly globular fruit, 1/2 to 3/4 inch in diameter, the other with ovate and much larger fruit. The pulp of the fruit (Beleric myrobalan) is considered by Hindu physicians to be astringent and laxative, and is prescribed with salt and long pepper in affections of the throat and chest. As a constituent of the triphala (three fruits), i.e., emblic, beleric and chebulic myrobalans, it is employed in a great number of diseases, and the kernel is sometimes used as an external application to inflamed parts. On account of its medicinal properties the tree bears the Sanskrit synonym of Anila-ghnaka, or “wind-killing.” According to the Nighantas the kernels are narcotic.”

Haritaki (Terminalia chebula)
According to the Bhavaprakasha, Haritaki was derived from a drop of nectar from Indra’s cup. Haritaki is used to mitigate Vata and eliminate ama (toxins), indicated by constipation, a thick greyish tongue coating, abdominal pain and distension, foul feces and breath, flatulence, weakness, and a slow pulse. The fresh fruit is dipana and the powdered dried fruit made into a paste and taken with jaggery is malashodhana, removing impurities and wastes from the body. Haritaki is an effective purgative when taken as a powder, but when the whole dried fruit is boiled the resulting decoction is grahi, useful in the treatment of diarrhea and dysentery. The fresh or reconstituted fruit taken before meals stimulates digestion, whereas if taken with meals it increases intelligence, nourishes the senses and purifies the digestive and genitourinary tract. Taken after meals Haritaki treats diseases caused by the aggravation of Vayu, Pitta and Kapha as a result of unwholesome food and drinks. Haritaki is a rasayana to Vata, increasing awareness, and has a nourishing, restorative effect on the central nervous system. Haritaki improves digestion, promotes the absorption of nutrients, and regulates colon function.
I am looking forward most to the increased intelligence which going by the research I can joyfully anticipate!
Nature is amazing!
This is exciting stuff!
I’ll keep you posted on how I feel and what goes on!

Leave a Reply

