Keepin' it RAW in the snow!

The past 8 weeks have seen me going from SUMMER to SPRING to WINTER!

From November through February I drank up the ‘Pura Vida’ sun shine in Costa Rica….

FxCam_1393003978729
Mid March I returned back to a refreshing, blue skied and flower filled spring in Edinburgh…

20140312_151823
Then, my body got really confused when I then fell back one more season ~ I landed in Upstate New York towards the end of March greeted by 12 inches of snow!

FxCam_1395868025658
Thankfully I have been traveling ‘RAW’ for a while now and I am used to all kinds of hurdles…
Long haul flights, road trips, family gatherings and more…
In fact, I am getting to like the challenge* of surviving & thriving, while keeping it real..
(*for me, this is not a competition, if I feel the need to change the way I eat, I will, but for now, this is really working out)
Come sun shine or snow, there are ways to stay high-raw and nourished, you just have to know your body well enough to respond to what it needs.

So, here’s how I did it Upstate NY (I don’t think I need to show you how I did it in Costa Rica, right?!) 😉

  • Hydration situation… Asides from having access to fresh mountain spring water 24/7, I swapped out my usual coconut water for fresh maple tree sap! Maple trees deliver a divine liquid full of vitamins, minerals, polyphenols and phytohormones… Luckily the season to tap is March-April 🙂 I landed in New York at just the right time! I also became aware of how much less waste I was producing ~ the maple sap doesn’t come in a carton, it comes straight out of the tree and the tree doesn’t mind at all!

    FxCam_1396266072469

    Here we have some home made maple syrup (the sap boiled down over many hours) but the sap I was drinking comes out completely clear and has the subtle taste of sweet maple!

  • Warming elixirs… oh yes, I am sure you must know by now how much a love my elixirs! But during this colder spell my elixirs were ramped up a notch or 2… I was lucky enough to have access to wild harvested reishi extract! I also added extra cayenne for some inner heat and circulation, plus extra maca root (a powerful adaption), cacao (strong thermogenic) and local honey… I also swapped out my usual ‘Pukka Licorice & Cinnamon’ tea base for a some ‘Yogi Spice’ tea… mmmm mmmmm!

    FxCam_1396381709534

  • Salads! But of course! No matter where you are on this planet, I am pretty sure you can make some kind of salad… you just have to do the best you can with what you’ve got. I was blessed to have access to all kinds of greens at the local co-op but this was heavily supplemented by sprouts grown by my wonderfully resourceful host who knew how to make off grid, forest living a place to thrive in…

    Local greens, mung bean sprouts, radish sprouts, fenugreek sprouts... and DRESSING, LOTS OF DRESSING! Read on to discover a little more about my dressing obsession!

    Local greens, mung bean sprouts, radish sprouts, fenugreek sprouts… and DRESSING, LOTS OF DRESSING! Read on to discover a little more about my dressing obsession!

  • Dressings… *TAHINI* I LOVE YOU, need I say more? There is almost too much to say here about the many wonderful ways to use tahini… here’s one example that went down a treat, even with the regular cheese eaters out there 😉

    Tahini (umm, yeah), cider vinegar, nutritional yeast flakes, garlic, ginger, cayenne AND *wild onions*... simple, delicious, gone in 60 seconds!

    Tahini (umm, yeah), cider vinegar, nutritional yeast flakes, garlic, ginger, cayenne AND *wild onions*… simple, delicious, gone in 60 seconds!

  • BLUEBERRIES? Seriously? Yep! Yet again my host pulls out more magic… In the sunny month of August the blueberry bushes are literally overflowing with food. He freezes the abundance immediately and pulls it out through the year to come… Genius.
    FxCam_1396896798256

    These little beauties are so sweet, it tastes like they were *just* picked 🙂

     

  • Sweet TREATS! Name your vehicle… be it an apple round or a medjool date you can stuff a lot of magic on to that little transportation system to your mouth! Check it out…

     

FxCam_1397858604400

1 medjool date, pitted (& make sure it’s a big one), stuff it with almond butter, local honey and local bee pollen… this is how I spend cosy afternoons, doodling and getting inspired… tell me that is not 100% delicious-ness once you’ve tried it!

FxCam_1397933129369

1 sliced apple (go through it’s equator to get the perfect disk shaped vehicle!), top it off with *TAHINI* (yes, again tahini I love theeeeee!!), cinnamon (essential), local honey, cacao nibs, black flame raisins and a little pink salt if you like…. oh yeah baby, we did it this time 🙂

  • Oh, and a fire… did I mention fire? If it’s cold out, light a fire and/or wear more clothes! Simple!

    FxCam_1397711203862
    We all live in tropical conditions.
    Huh?
    If you don’t believe me look at your thermostat, it probably says something around 68°, it does in most homes in the western world. But in Upstate NY, we didn’t heating so we relied solely on the wood burning stove.
    Staying RAW in the winter is one of the questions I get asked the most and I sometimes feel like I have no room to comment as I spend most of my winter months in Costa Rica. However, this year life took me on a different path!
    I fell backwards in seasonal time and for that, I am infinitely grateful!
    I learned *so much* these past 4 weeks, lessons I won’t forget any time soon.
    I realized how important it is to look around me and ask; What is available? What don’t I have to buy from a store, and how can I tread more lightly?
    Thank you to my wonderful, humble & hugely inspiring host!
    Thank you snow, thank you forest, thank you teachers!

Leave a Reply

